The Lemon Laws on Used Cars Florida
Several states in the US just like Florida, used car buyers are sheltered by lemon law. Lemon Laws were enacted to protect consumers from products that are plagued with serious defects. If the vehicle cannot be satisfactorily repaired within a certain timeframe usually within the warranty period or if the item is not as good as new after so many repairs, it is considered a "lemon." Lemon laws entitle buyers to compensation, such as a full refund, if they are unable to have used car Florida repaired.
Like most laws, lemon laws differ by state, so examine local guidelines carefully to determine what action you need to take to protect your investment and Florida's lemon law applies only to new vehicles. Lemon coverage law may transfer from the original buyer to a second buyer only if the same occurs within 24 hours of the initial purchase.
Florida's lemon law only applies for 18 months or until the vehicle has been driven 24,000 miles, whichever comes first. It applies used car Florida and other covered vehicle types that are sold or signed to a long-term lease. Car dealers are required to own a copy of the state's official publication, Consumer Guide to the Florida Lemon Law. Other than passenger cars, the law also covers other types of vehicles such motorcycles, trucks that weigh more than 10,000 pounds, off-road vehicles and recreational vehicles.
Florida's lemon law validity covers a certain period used car Florida buyers are illegible for a refund only when certain conditions are met. One of them is making sure that the buyer should have taken the car to the dealer or another authorized repair shop to service the same recurring problem at least three times. In addition, drivers may be able to claim rights under Florida's lemon law if the vehicle has been out of service for a total of 30 days or more while repairs are being made. But before the cay buyers can have a full refund he is required to keep all records of repair attempts from a car repair shop and a 15-day period of car repair will require the driver to submit a Motor Vehicle Defect Notification form to the dealer, which indicates the buyer's willingness to invoke the Florida lemon law.